ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE EDGWARE & HENDON REFORM SYNAGOGUE COMMUNITY

118 STONEGROVE, EDGWARE, MIDDX, HA8 8AB DATE: SUNDAY 16 OCTOBER 2022

REGISTERED CHARITY NO 1172458 TIME: 13:00

A constituent of Reform Judaism VENUE: SYNAGOGUE MAIN HALL

AGENDA

1. Adoption of the Minutes of the AGM held on 26 September 2021: as approved by Council on 9 November 2021

- 2. Trustees Report: Report from the Trustees on Activities held during 2021
- 3. Election of Council for 2022:

• The Honorary Officers: (i) Chairman

(ii) Joint Vice-Chairmen (iii) Honorary Treasurer

(iv) Assistant Honorary Treasurer

(v) Honorary Secretary

(vi) 1 Additional Honorary Officer without Portfolio

- Additional members of Council
- 4. Election of Junior Warden
- 5. Election of Young Member to Council: 18-35 years of age
- 6. Approval of Audited Accounts 2021 for discussion
- 7. Draft Income & Expenditure Accounts for year ending 31 December 2021
- 8. Approval of Auditors
- 9. Subscription Proposal for 2023 Resolution; To consider, and if thought fit, to pass the following Resolution: That as from 1 January 2023 the annual subscription for 2023 shall be £1080 per annum gross for family membership and £540 per annum gross for single membership. The Special Projects Fund rate will be the same as for 2022 being £30 per annum gross for family membership and £15 per annum gross for single membership. That the Honorary Treasurers be empowered to establish gross payment amounts for Higher Rate taxpayers so that the net cost to them to be identical to that of standard rate taxpayers. That the Honorary Treasurers be additionally empowered to set reduced scale rates for young adults (18-35 years).
- 10. Any other business

BY ORDER OF THE COUNCIL: MICHAEL WEBER, HONORARY SECRETARY

ELECTION NOTES

- (a) The annual subscription set out above will be the amount
- (b) The Special Projects Fund levy shall be £15 per person which remains as last year.
- (c) Members will be invited to voluntarily pay £36 per annum into an EHRS lottery with a monthly winner
- (d) The Board of Deputies voluntary contribution will be £15.00 per person as set by the Board of Deputies



HONORARY OFFICERS



CHAIRMAN: JEREMY HARROD

Jeremy has been a member of Council since 2001 and an Honorary Officer since 2012. Former chair of the Services Committee, he also serves as a lay reader. Jeremy served on the steering group for the merger and the Rabbinic Succession Group.

He is the current Joint Vice Chair of EHRS.

Proposed by Mr M Lerman; seconded by Mr R Brand

JOINT VICE CHAIR: JO SIGALOV

Born into the EDRS community, Jo (née Wax) joined Council in 2011 and became Honorary Secretary in 2014 responsible for staffing, Beyond EHRS and Corporate Secretarial. Jo taught at both EDRS and HRS. She serves on the Constitution Group, and the Culture and Heritage Group. She is the current Joint Vice Chair of EHRS.

Proposed by Mr J Harrod; seconded by Mrs J Brand



JOINT VICE CHAIR: ANDREW WOOLSTONE

A childhood member of EDRS Andrew has served on Council since 2015, and is a current Honorary Officer. He is Chair of the Membership Committee and previously served on the Technology Working Group.

Proposed by Ms J Staal; seconded by Mr B Konyn



JOINT HONORARY TREASURER: KEVIN MADDISON

Treasurer of HRS, and Joint Honorary Treasurer at EHRS, Kevin is a retired chartered and certified accountant with a vast experience in charity accounting.

Proposed by Mr P Newton; seconded by Mrs M Allen



JOINT HONORARY TREASURER: MICHAEL LERMAN

Michael spent more than 10 years on Council and other EHRS committees. He was previously elected as assistant Honorary Treasurer, and then as Honorary Treasurer.

Proposed by Mr J Harrod; seconded by Mrs J Brand



Michael has been a trustee since 2011, responsible for Within EHRS and Shabbat Kiddushim, and is currently the High Holy Day Co-ordinator. He was a Warden for several years, twice as Senior Warden, and has been the Honorary Secretary for the last 3 years.

Proposed by Mrs V Lewis; seconded by Mr D Landes





HONORARY OFFICER: DANIEL MITCHELL

A long-standing member of EHRS, Daniel is past Chair of the Security Committee and continues to serve on the team. He has been an EHRS Council member since 2018.

Proposed by Mrs J Brand; seconded by Mrs J Harrod



ADDITIONAL COUNCIL MEMBERS



FIONA AITMAN

Fiona had been a member of HRS for 42 years, and on Council for 7 years. She currently enjoys being a Trustee on the Council of EHRS, a post she has held since the merger.

Proposed by Rabbi M Goldsmith; seconded by Mrs V Joseph

ROBERT BRAND

Robert has served on Council for several years. He is the head of the Services Committee, was the High Holy Day Coordinator for 10 years, and was previously a Senior Warden and on the Governance Committee.

Proposed by Mr L Stein; seconded by Mrs Sharon Garson



DONNA BRYK

Donna and her family have been members of EHRS since 2013. She has helped run the 3rd Edgware Brownies since 2014. In 2020, she helped with a Community Circle and the Tech Team for the High Holy Days. She is also part of a social support group at EHRS.

Proposed by Mr P Newton; seconded by Rabbi D Young-Somers

KEVIN DARVILL

Kevin has been a member of EHRS since 2020.

He is a trustee on the Board of Meketa supporting the Jewish community in Gondar,
Ethiopia, and is responsible for their fundraising.

Proposed by Mr J Harrod; seconded by Mrs J Brand





NEIL FLASH

Neil was previously a Council member at EDRS and EHRS, and served on the Communications Advisory and Technology Review groups.

He is currently a Managing Director of a communications consultancy.

Proposed by Mr E Allen; seconded by Mr B Konyn



Sharon has been a member for over 30 years during which time many years and serving on the Warden team for some time, including as Senior Warden. She has a strong interest in our Services and is also Line Manager for Nagila Nursery.

Proposed by Mr R Brand; seconded by Mr L Stein





ALEX HIRSH

Alex has been a member of EDRS and EHRS since he was a child where he attended cheder and the youth programmes.

He is a member of the Shirah band for the Shabbat Morning Shirah Service.

Proposed by Mr J Harrod; seconded by Mrs J Brand



ADDITIONAL COUNCIL MEMBERS

BEN KONYN

Ben has been an active EDRS/EHRS member since childhood and previously served on Council as well as YCC (as vice-chair and treasurer). He was also Akela of the Cub Pack, Co-ordinated EDRS' first Mitzvah Day, and implemented the streaming of services.

Proposed by Miss B Lemer; seconded by Ms J Staal





DAVID MENDOZA-WOLFSON

David has been on Council since 2019. He is currently the Vice President of The Board of Deputies of British Jews, and a trustee of the London Jewish Forum.

He previously worked as the Incident Analyst at CST.

Proposed by Ms J Sigalov; seconded by Mrs J Brand

ERIC SANDER

Eric has served on EHRS Council since the merger and prior to that he was on Council and the Executive Committee at HRS, where he was a member for more than 30 years.

He has special interests in our twinned community Bobruisk (Belarus).

Proposed by Mr D Mitchell; seconded by Mr S Garfinkel





JO WEBER

Jo has been serving on Council as a Trustee for several years and Chair of the Youth Centre Committee. She is a qualified youth worker with extensive experience, including Senior Youth Worker at EDRS.

Proposed by Mrs S Koster; seconded by Mr P Newton

YOUNG MEMBERS REPRESENTATIVE



ELLIOTT ALLEN

Elliott has been a member of EDRS and EHRS for many years, and has worked as a Youth Leader at the EHRS Kaytana & Kadima Summer Scheme.

He is the current Youth Council member.

Proposed by Mrs J Brand; seconded by Mrs M Allen

JUNIOR WARDEN

ANDREA LUCAS

A long time member of EDRS and EHRS, Andie has helped with the Day Centre, The Ladies Guild, Catering Corps, and with various events under our Community Care Team..

Proposed by Mr K Price; seconded by Mr S Gilbert



